Who Were The Original Teams In The NFL?

The NFL has been bringing American sports fans together for almost 100 years after it was set up in 1920. Fans come together through their love of football, but are divided by their loyalties. The NFL looks a lot different now than it did in 1920 and these are the original NFL teams.

Who Were The Original Teams In The NFL?

Chicago Cardinals

The team we all know as the Arizona Cardinals was initially based in Chicago. Cardinals fans remained in Chicago until the 1960s, when the franchise began a new life in St. Louis.

The team moved again in 1988 when it relocated to Phoenix, before changing to the Arizona Cardinals in 1993. In the inaugural NFL season, the Cardinals came fourth and finished there as there were not yet any playoffs.

Decatur Staleys

The Decatur Staleys are now the Chicago Bears, and they won the most games in 1920. Despite winning the most, they weren’t crowned champions because of a strange rule. The team that won, the Akron Pros, won fewer games, but because they didn’t lose any games they topped the standings.

Tied games didn’t count back then, so they had the best winning percentage, despite not winning as often as the Staleys. After one season in Decatur, the Staleys moved to Chicago, winning their first title in 1921 and in 1922 changed names to the Bears.

Who Were The Original Teams In The NFL?

The Lost Teams

All other teams in the first NFL season have all gone, including the winners of the first-ever season, the Akron Pros. Other teams in the league that year include the Rochester Jeffersons, Dayton Triangles, Cleveland Tigers, and Muncie Flyers.

The NFL will celebrate its 100th year in 2020, and it’s sure to be a momentous occasion. There are only two teams in the Bears and Cardinals that can claim to have been there through it all.